The Bank with a Soul

Quarantine regulation when entering Switzerland

People arriving in Switzerland from certain countries and areas are required to go into quarantine. The list of these countries and areas is updated on September 7th 2020. A negative test result does not exempt you from the mandatory quarantine requirement.

People who have spent time in a country or area with an increased risk of infection and then enter Switzerland must go into quarantine. The countries and areas affected are set down in a list. This list is regularly updated in line with the epidemiological situation.  

The mandatory quarantine requirement is governed by the list valid at the moment of entry into Switzerland.  

Mandatory quarantine: list of countries and areas

The countries and areas with a high risk of infection are set down in the Covid-19 Ordinance on International Passenger Transport Measures. This list is regularly updated.

The newly added countries and areas are written in bold. Removed from the list on September 7th 2020: Belgium, El Salvador, Eswatini (Swazsiland), Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Oman. 

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Aruba
  • The Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Faroe Islands
  • French Polynesia
  • Gibraltar
  • Guam
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Honduras
  • India
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Namibia
  • North Macedonia
  • Occupied Palestinian Territory
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Saint Maarten
  • Spain including the Balearic Islands (without the Canary Islands)
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States of America (including Puerto Rico and US Virgin Islands)

What to do after entering Switzerland

If you enter Switzerland having at any point in the past 14 days spent time in a state or area where there is an increased risk of infection, you must do the following:

  • Upon arrival, go immediately to your home or to other suitable accommodation.
  • You must stay there for 10 days from the day of your arrival in Switzerland without going out.
  • Report your arrival  to the cantonal authority responsible within two days.
  • Follow the instructions of the cantonal authority.


This site uses cookies.

To make this website run properly and to improve your experience, we use cookies.

For more detailed information, please check our Cookie Policy.